Chairman Hilderbran Receives ‘2013 Legislative Champion’ Award From Texas Oil And Gas Industry

December 11, 2013

Austin, TX – State Representative Harvey Hilderbran (R-Kerrville) received a “2013 Legislative Champion” award from the Texas oil and natural gas industry. Nine Texas oil and natural gas organizations, working together through the Statewide Joint Association Education Initiative, recognized Chairman Hilderbran for his work during the 83rd Legislature to keep the oil and natural gas industry strong.

“Chairman Hilderbran is an energy advocate and understands that oil and natural gas is central to the Texas economy,” said Luke Legate, spokesman for the Statewide Joint Association Education Initiative, which educates the public about the oil and natural gas industry. “Chairman Hilderbran provided critical leadership on several energy-related issues this year and was indeed a legislative champion in 2013.”

The surge in oil and natural gas production happening across Texas is made possible because of advances in technology that allow operators to tap oil and natural gas reserves that were once considered unreachable. In 2012 alone, oil and gas companies contributed over $12 billion in taxes and royalties into state and local treasuries.

Chairman Hilderbran stated, “I am honored to receive this award. The oil and gas industry is the heart and soul of Texas. If you’re anti-oil and gas, you’re anti-Texas. I understand the importance of the oil and gas industry to the state of Texas and to all the Texas families benefitting from the economic growth that the industry is providing. I’ve worked closely to keep Texas a strong oil and gas state by listening to concerns, studying the issues closely and working effectively with stakeholders to advance public policy that is in the best interests of millions of Texans.”

The Statewide Joint Association Education Initiative, which includes the Texas Oil & Gas Association, the Texas Pipeline Association, the Texas Alliance of Energy Producers, the Foundation for Energy Education, Texas Independent Producers and Royalty Owners, the Texas Royalty Council, the Permian Basin Petroleum Association, and the Panhandle Producers and Royalty Owners Association. For more information, please visit